a reminder to surrender

Imam al Shafi’i understood this notion of “surrender” extremely well. He said, “My heart is at ease knowing that what was meant for me will never miss me, and that what misses me was never meant for me.” And Who knows better what is meant, or not meant for me, other than Allah SWT? 

Allah SWT has already worked out a solution for me for the problems I’ve only started to worry about.

When we lay down our mess and run back to Him, admitting with humility that we are in utter lost without His Guidance and Help, that’s surrendering.

And with that surrendering, will our hearts then finally breathe easy, and be at rest. 

“Ya Allah, I pray that whenever we feel burdened with the stresses of this world, may you grant us the patience to reflect, the consistency to engage, the strength to surrender and the wisdom to trust You. May we always find rest with the remembrance of You.”

Leave a comment